Search form

Bus Priority Program

The NSW Government released Sydney’s Bus Future in 2013. This is the long term plan to redesign the bus network to meet customer needs now and into the future. Sydney’s Bus Future identifies the city’s most important bus routes, as the focus for investment in bus priority and more frequent services. The Bus Priority Program supports Sydney’s Bus Future by delivering projects that make bus services faster and more reliable. Measures include red bus lanes, bus priority at traffic lights, changed parking restrictions and clearways, and relocating bus stops. Find more information at Bus Priority Infrastructure Program External websiteincluding key projects under development by Roads and Maritime Services.

Sydney’s Bus Future Rapid routes

Sydney’s Bus Future highlights 13 Rapid routes as Sydney’s most important centre-to-centre bus links, including 11 established routes and one for future development in both the North West and South West growth centres. Rapid routes will operate at least as often as every 10 minutes, in both directions, from 6am to 7pm every weekday. Frequent timetabled services will operate at other times.

  • Mona Vale–CBD – now under design and development as Northern Beaches B-Line Program External website
  • North Bondi–CBD
  • Castle Hill–Liverpool via Parramatta and T-way
  • Parramatta–CBD via Ryde 
  • Burwood–CBD via Parramatta Road
  • Maroubra Junction–CBD – to integrate with new CBD and South East Light Rail
  • Parramatta CBD–Macquarie Park via Carlingford and Epping
  • Hurstville–Macquarie Park via Burwood
  • Rouse Hill–Hurstville via T-way, Parramatta and Bankstown
  • Castle Hill–CBD via M2
  • Hornsby–Blacktown via Castle Hill and T-way
  • Growth Centre Rapid route: Rouse Hill–Blacktown via Marsden Park and Richmond Road
  • Growth Centre Rapid route: Liverpool–Campbelltown via Leppington and Oran Park

Sydney’s Bus Future Suburban routes

20 Suburban routes are identified in Sydney’s Bus Future, as the second tier in the city’s network of key cross-regional routes. Customers will wait no longer than 15 minutes for a bus in each direction on Suburban routes between 6am and 7pm every weekday, and 10 minutes during commuter peaks. 

New Suburban routes to meet growing demand in Western Sydney Growth Centres:

  • Penrith–Rouse Hill via Schofields and Marsden Park
  • Marsden Park–Prairiewood via Western Sydney Employment Area and Mount Druitt
  • Liverpool–Camden via Oran Park and Leppington 

New Suburban bus routes to provide direct, end-to-end access between centres:

  • Miranda–Bankstown via Sutherland and Menai
  • Chatswood–Airport via Sydney CBD and Botany Road
  • Lane Cove–Eastgardens via Sydney CBD, Surry Hills and Botany Road
  • Hurstville–Sydney CBD via Earlwood and Newtown (King Street) – see Inner West Bus Improvements – Bus Priority Program External website
  • Burwood–Chatswood via Drummoyne and Lane Cove
  • Bankstown–Blacktown via Fairfield and Wetherill Park
  • Penrith–Mount Druitt via Werrington and Great Western Highway
  • Bondi Junction–Miranda via Airport and Eastgardens

Existing routes converted to Suburban bus routes:

  • Randwick–Sydney CBD  via Moore Park Busway – to integrate with new CBD and South East Light Rail\
  • Bondi Junction–Burwood via Eastgardens
  • Belrose–Sydney CBD via Eastern Valley Way
  • Hurstville–Burwood via Roselands
  • Liverpool–Burwood via Bankstown
  • Parramatta – Burwood via Newington
  • Bondi Junction–Burwood via Sydenham
  • Chatswood–Manly via Frenchs Forest, Dee Why and Brookvale
  • Miranda–Hurstville via Sylvania

View or download the Sydney’s Bus Future network map (pdf 4.8MB)

Last updated: 30 March 2017