It’s an honour! Transport staff named in this year’s Australia Day Honours List


Three of Transport’s finest have been recognised on the 2019 Australia Day Honours List.

Chris Bennetts, Barbara Wise and Graham Bradshaw are the proud recipients of Australian Public Service Medals for their outstanding work in transforming customer journeys, reforming the point to point industry and enabling retired transport assets to bring tangible benefits to local regional communities.

As Executive Director, Digital Products Delivery, Chris was recognised for his work in transforming the public transport experience for our customers, including innovative real-time information apps and the creation and roll out of Opal and contactless payments.

As NSW Point to Point Transport Commissioner, Barbara was recognised for her work in shaping and implementing reforms to regulate the NSW point to point sector which includes taxis, hire cars and ridesharing services. The changes introduced under her leadership have provided our customers with more flexible and convenient transport options and have strengthened the safety obligations of the industry.

As the Director, Network Standards and Services, Graham was recognised as the originator and driving force behind two innovative programs that have forged real change for some of NSW's most vulnerable community members. His Second Life initiative has provided retired buses to support Aboriginal workers gain employment in Bourke. It’s also provided community transport for refugee families and Aboriginal school children in northern NSW and made available buses to be converted to provide short-term accommodation for the state’s homeless.

Congratulations Chris, Barbara and Graham!

See the full list of Public Service Medal recipients.