Lower speed limits to protect pedestrians in western NSW


The central business districts of two communities in western NSW will be made safer with their speed limits reduced to 40km/h. 

Transport for NSW Regional Director West Alistair Lunn said High Pedestrian Activity Areas (HPAA) would be introduced to Wilcannia and Cobar from Thursday 1 December, with the support of NSW Police, to improve safety in the communities. 

“Transport for NSW was asked by Central Darling and Cobar shire councils to review their current 50 km/h speed limits through the centre of the towns, with a focus on pedestrian safety,” Mr Lunn said. 

“The Barrier Highway runs through the centres of both Wilcannia and Cobar, forming part of the CBDs and introducing a 40 km/h speed limit through these areas will ensure there’s safe passage for pedestrians. 

“The Barrier Highway is also a significant NSW freight route connecting the east and west of Australia and there are significant numbers of heavy vehicles passing through the town centres as there are no freight vehicle alternatives.” 

In Wilcannia the reduced speed limit will take effect along Myers Street – also the Barrier Highway – from Hood Street on the north-western edge of town to 85 metres south-east of Reid Street. 

In Cobar the HPAA will be established along Marshall Street - which turns into the Barrier Highway at both ends of town – between Bourke and Lewis streets, as well as sections of Bourke, Barton and Linsley streets which intersect with Marshall Street. 

“In both towns there are a mix of residential houses, retail, hospitality, banking and other businesses which naturally attract high numbers of pedestrians,” Mr Lunn said. 

“The introduction of a HPAA is a proactive approach to lower speeds that heighten driver awareness of pedestrians accessing retail and social services in the area, and reducing severity, should accidents occur.” 

Signs have been installed to alert motorists of the reduced speed limits and new High Pedestrian Activity Areas, which take effect on 1 December. 

Members of the community can sign up to receive the latest updates on speed limits in their nominated area and have their say.