Policies and guidelines

Route Assessment Guideline (2002)

The 2002 Route Assessment Guideline for Restricted Access Vehicles (RAV) outlines the procedures and assessment criteria to be used by:

  • Transport NSW (TfNSW) to assess State Roads.
  • Councils to assess Regional and Local roads.

For B-Doubles, Road Trains and 4.6 metre high vehicles, information is also provided for applicants seeking new access, including what to do if access is not available:

Restricted Access Vehicle (RAV) Maps

The Restricted Access Vehicle (RAV) maps provide details on the roads and zones approved for B-doubles, road trains and 4.6 metre high vehicles.

The maps cover both Sydney and NSW in detail and include a set of travel restrictions which may apply to a specific RAV route.

The RAV maps are an accurate depiction of the roads that have been approved and legally gazetted for the operation of RAV vehicles at the time of publication. TfNSW updates the maps on a quarterly basis and transport operators are encouraged to check-back for updates.

Weight of Loads Groups (WOLG)

Transport for NSW has assisted the creation of Weight of Loads Groups (WOLGs) as part of its asset protection strategy, which have been operational for a number of years.

Heavy vehicle enforcement in NSW is about maximising road safety and managing NSW infrastructure, while ensuring the ongoing efficiency of the freight industry in NSW.

Role of WOLG

The primary role of WOLGs is to ensure that heavy vehicles using council and state roads are complying with statutory loading requirements, and to enforce load limits and reduce wear from heavy vehicle overloading.


There are four WOLGs across NSW.

Each of these WOLGs consists of a number of member councils within a certain area.

The table below outlines the member councils for each WOLG:

North East Group

North West Group

Mid North Group

South East Group

Ballina Shire Council (administrative council)

Moree Plains Shire Council (administrative council)

MidCoast Council (administrative council)

Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council (administrative council)

Byron Shire Council

Dubbo Regional Council

Armidale Regional Council

Snowy Monaro Regional Council

Clarence Valley Council

Glen Innes Severn Shire Council

Bellingen Shire Council

Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council

Kyogle Shire Council

Gunnedah Shire Council

Coffs Harbour City Council

Goulburn Mulwaree Council

Lismore City Council

Narrabri Shire Council

Dungog Shire Council

Hilltops Council

Richmond Valley Council

Warrumbungle Shire Council

Port Macquarie-Hastings Council

Shoalhaven City Council

Tenterfield Shire Council


Kempsey Shire Council

Wollondilly Shire Council

Tweed City Council


Liverpool Plains Shire Council

Yass Valley Council



Muswellbrook Shire Council




Nambucca ValleyCouncil




Tamworth Regional Council




Upper Hunter Shire Council



Uralla Shire Council



Walcha Council

Vending in rest areas policy

Transport for NSW Policy for Vending in Rest areas provides clear direction on undertaking of vending activities in rest areas.

Download Vending in Rest Areas – Policy No. 271 (PDF, 39.84 KB)

Related information

Related links to legislation for managing roads in New South Wales: