Sydney Metro

Sydney Metro is Australia’s biggest public transport project.

In 2024, Sydney will have 31 metro stations and more than 66 kilometres of new metro rail, revolutionising the way Australia’s biggest city travels.

By the end of the decade, the network will be expanded to include 46 stations and more than 113 kilometres of world-class metro for Sydney.

Sydney Metro includes four projects:

  • Metro North West Line
    Sydney’s first metro, the Metro North West Line, opened on 26 May 2019. Services at the 13 metro stations operate every four minutes in the peak in each direction on Australia’s first driverless railway. The line is being extended into the Sydney CBD and beyond, to open in 2024.
    For all operational information and service information, see
  • Sydney Metro City & Southwest
    A 30 kilometre extension of metro rail from the end of Metro North West Line at Chatswood under Sydney Harbour, through new CBD stations and south west to Bankstown. It is due to open in 2024 with seven new metro stations and 11 upgraded stations.
  • Sydney Metro West
    The metro line linking Greater Parramatta and Sydney CBDs and communities along the way, servicing the key precincts of Sydney Olympic Park, The Bays, Parramatta, Westmead and the Sydney CBD. Construction will continue into the second half of the 2020s.
  • Sydney Metro – Western Sydney Airport
    The railway servicing the new Western Sydney International Airport and Western Sydney Aerotropolis. To open at the same time as airline passenger services start. Construction started in late 2020.

For any development advice regarding your proposal the Sydney Metro Corridor Protection team are your first port of call and can be contacted by emailing