16 Regional Cities Program


Project overview

The NSW Government is rolling out the 16 Regional Cities Program which is a commitment to improving public transport services throughout regional NSW.  Improvements to regional bus services will aim to provide better connections to where customers need to go for work, schools, health, and social and recreational activities. 

Key benefits

Program objectives include: 

  • Better meet customers travel needs 
  • Provide equitable access to public transport 
  • Provide integrated, multi-modal, end-to-end journeys
  • Provide cross border journeys (Albury, Queanbeyan and Tweed Heads)
  • Improve customer information
  • Improve asset usage and operational efficiency
  • Streamline service offerings.

The program consists of two work streams they include top priorities and holistic transport planning. Both streams will be undertaken for the identified 16 regional cities across NSW.

Top Priorities

Introduces service improvements to the bus network after identifying service gaps. To be delivered mid to late 2020


Whole network bus review. Identifying travel needs to help develop and deliver integrated transport service plans. To be delivered by late 2023.

The 16 regional cities include:

  • Wagga Wagga – complete
  • Tweed Heads – complete
  • Griffith – planning 
  • Bathurst – planning
  • Orange – planning
  • Dubbo – planning
  • Parkes – planning
  • Port Macquarie – planning
  • Coffs Harbour – planning
  • Grafton – planning
  • Albury – planning
  • Nowra-Bomaderry – planning
  • Queanbeyan– planning
  • Tamworth – planning
  • Armidale – planning
  • Lismore – planning

NSW regional cities have a dynamic and thriving industries across the agricultural, construction, education, health, manufacturing, mining, retail and trade, tourism and food services. The NSW Government is supporting the economic developing of these industries by providing and improvement public transport connections to keep customers moving to where they need to go. 

Supporting documents

16 Regional Cities Program overview (PDF, 962.32 KB)

More information

Email: Regionalcitiesprogram@transport.nsw.gov.au