Our organisation

Transport for NSW divisions and key business areas, Project Delivery Offices, and Transport Operating Agencies.

Transport for NSW is the lead agency of the NSW Transport cluster. Our role is to lead the development of a safe, efficient, integrated transport system that keeps people and goods moving, connects communities and shapes the future of our cities, centres and regions.

We are responsible for strategy, planning, policy, regulation, funding allocation and other non-service delivery functions for all modes of transport in NSW including road, rail, ferry, light rail, point to point, regional air, cycling and walking.

We focus on improving the customer experience and contract public and private operators to deliver customer-focused transport services on our behalf.

We also lead the procurement of transport infrastructure and oversee delivery through project delivery offices and industry delivery partners. 

How we’re structured

Four operational divisions:

  • Customer Technology and Services
  • Freight, Strategy and Planning 
  • Infrastructure and Place
  • Transport Coordination

Two support divisions:

  • Office of the Secretary
  • Corporate Services

Four project delivery offices:

Key business areas

A number of our business areas provide an interface between TfNSW and its stakeholders.

Organisational chart

The Transport cluster is made up of an extended network of government agencies and private organisations which work together to deliver transport services. Download the Transport cluster diagram (PDF, 56.1 KB).

Government transport agencies