Community leases

What does a community lease cover?

Community leases cover facilities provided by local councils and amateur clubs (eg rowing and fishing clubs, scouts and guides), such as:

  • public boat ramps
  • swimming enclosures
  • wharves.

View or download policies and procedures for community leases.

What areas do we cover?

In addition to Sydney Harbour, Transport for NSW (TfNSW) also administers commercial and community leases in:

  • Botany Bay
  • Newcastle Harbour
  • Port Kembla Harbour.

Sydney Harbour

Sydney Harbour includes:

  • North Harbour
  • Middle Harbour
  • Parramatta River
  • Lane Cove River
  • Duck River.


Botany Bay

Foreshores of Botany Bay and the gateway to the Georges River, from the eastern side of the Captain Cook Bridge along the foreshore of Brighton Le Sands to the mouth of the Cook River and along Silver Beach and Taren Point.


Newcastle Harbour

Newcastle Harbour from the entrance breakwaters to the Stockton Bridge on the Hunter River North Arm to the Tourle Street Bridge on the Hunter River South Arm.

Port Kembla

The moorings and berths at the boat harbour are administered by TfNSW's Wollongong regional office. The Wollongong regional office number is 4227 3644.