Safer Cities: State partnerships

Transport for NSW is collaborating with a number of state government agencies to deliver projects under the Safer Cities program.

These partnerships are piloting place-based interventions and developing strategies to improve the perceptions of safety for women, girls, and gender-diverse people as they travel to, from, and within public spaces and transportation hub precincts. The projects aim to consider the needs and experiences of individuals of all genders and support vibrant and connected communities.

Pilot interventions that will be delivered through these partnerships include improved accessibility, lighting, wayfinding, public art and activations. The integration of smart technology and digital plumbing is also being explored.

The program is delivering a range of temporary and permanent interventions across NSW on state owned government land in partnership with:

  • Cities Integration, Transport for NSW at Moore Park Precinct
  • Hunter and Central Coast Development Corporation
  • Greater Sydney Parklands at Parramatta Park
  • NSW Women’s Safety Commissioner, Department of Communities and Justice on YourGroundNSW
  • Office of the 24 -hour Economy Commissioner, Department of Enterprise, Investment and Trade
  • Placemaking NSW at the Rocks Tallawoladah
  • Smart Places and Net Zero Cities, Transport for NSW
  • South Eastern Sydney Local Health District at Randwick Health and Innovation Precinct
  • Transport Access Program, Transport for NSW at Stanmore, Redfern and Waitara stations
  • Western Sydney Local Health District at Westmead Health Precinct

More information on the Safer Cities: State partnerships will be available soon.

Transport for NSW is delivering public space improvements across NSW through the Safer Cities Program.

More information

If you have any other questions or would like more information on the program, please email the team at:

Please note that since the 1 April 2022 the Public Spaces branch from the Department of Planning and Environment was transitioned to TfNSW and renamed Cities Revitalisation and Place. The ‘Contact us’ mailboxes and are managed by the Cities Revitalisation and Place team.